Single Child ~ Yet Again !!

mother-and-child-sunset-silhouette-vince-cavataio.jpg

Contradicting oneself, and challenging ones own thought process can be taxing.

Its like you against you !!

Not long before I wrote one of my favourite blogs till date on “Siblings”.

I was touched by the responses, although very few. I am totally aware that very less people read my notes and care of how many kids I produce.

But yes, the very few that came in remain very close to my heart. I don’t even know their names, but when they opened up on their sibling memories, it was heart wrenching.

I was grateful to myself for writing that.

But today, in close to 100+ days of writing that ‘Sibling’ blog, my priorities have changed. Because I simply don’t have the luxury to realise my dreams.

I don’t see a point in having multiple children and

  • Requesting every other relative to lend a helping hand.
  • Tiring the already old grandparents to handle terrible toddlers.
  • Dumping your frustration on people around because you cant handle your own kids.
  • The heights of all, being overly jealous on your counterparts on the free time they get, just because they have less kids than you.

I don’t want to do any of the above. I don’t want to be any of the above.

Although I know all his life, Baby Ved will be playing alone and denying him a sibling will be too heavy a guilt for me to bear, but I can live with it. It is any day better than the guilt of not being able to do justice to one or more of my kids.

Unless and until there is a support system you can rely on, a cushion to fall back on, I would say, it is safe to play it safe 🙂

Of course, I know as we move to the nuclear family fashion, there needs to be more of humane touch and sense in everything we do, to keep the emotions in tact. For that you don’t need more kids.

You need to be a sensible parent.

A parent cum sibling for your precious child.

A brother who can break bones together.

A sister who can keep those intimate secrets.

Some of the lovely humans I know are all Single Children.

I am sure with the family that prays together, God will definitely fill that void in that little heart.

While I will forever be guilty of denying Baby Ved the most sacred relationship of a sibling, something that I enjoy, I also will strive harder to be the bestest parent possible to cover up for it.

PS: As always I am sure someone will come up with an entirely different notion about the above article. Just to reiterate, you can have any number of kids you want to have 🙂 I am not the brand ambasador for ‘One Child’ policy.

Its not about you, Its about the Little Boy’s Amma.

Pris,

A little boy’s Amma.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

